Alaska has no statewide licensing requirements for private investigators. Private investigators are required, though, to have a business license to operate in Alaska, as are all other businesses. Anchorage and Fairbanks have regulations for licensing of private investigators.
State government link:
Link for state government business issues:
Anchorage and Fairbanks both have private investigator licensing requirements. More detailed information concerning this can be accessed at the following link:
ANCHORAGE Licensing Process:
Anchorage’s licensing requirements for private investigator agencies:
- Copy of Alaska business license
- Provide information on present/previous occupations, as well as names/addresses of present/previous employers.
- Name background check from Alaska State Troopers. Fee for this is $20. Link for background check information: http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/background/
- PI employees must: (a) be at least 18 years of age; (b) not be addicted to narcotics, dangerous drugs, or intoxicants; (c) not have been convicted of a felony within the previous two years, or a misdemeanor within one year, involving assault or dangerous weapons; and (d) have not been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, assault with a dangerous weapon, traffic in narcotics or dangerous drugs, or traffic in women for immoral purposes within ten years.
- FEES for the agency are $100 initial licensing fee, then biennial renewal on October 1.
Contact information for Anchorage municipal government:
Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk’s Office, P.O. Box 196650, Anchorage, AK 99519-6650
phone: (907) 343-4316
fax: (907) 343-4313
e-mail: [email protected]
FAIRBANKS licensing requirements:
Applicant for a PI license must (a) be a US citizen, (b) be of good moral character and (c) have never been convicted of any felony or crime of moral turpitude.
Applications must be accompanied by a surety bond, a copy of applicant’s State of Alaska business license, a copy of applicant’s driver’s license, current driving record and criminal background report.
Criminal background report can be obtained (for a fee of $20 for a name-based background report, $35 for a fingerprint-based background report) from Alaska State Troopers. Link: http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/background/
Fees: $100 non-refundable application fee, $400 license fee (2 year license), Surety bond of $10,000.
Fairbanks contact information:
City of Fairbanks, City Clerk’s Office, 800 Cushman Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4615
phone: (907) 459-6715
fax: (907) 459-6710
e-mail: [email protected]
STATE PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION
Alaska Investigators’ Association (AIA), P.O. Box 202314, Anchorage, AK 99520
One place you can get started with training hours would be with http://www.privateinvestigatorhq.net/privateinvestigatorunion
This may fulfill all or some of the state requirements for education for a PI license, and can also help you get your foot in the door with an establshed agency while you get the training and experience needed. For the latest requirements for licensing in your state, it is a good idea to get in contact with the state agency in charge of PI licensing or the state professional association.
This training/internship program will give you access to a database of jobs that can be performed without having a state-issued PI license. These jobs can usually be counted as part of training and/or experience hours that are required for state licensing.